Remember when you first learned about YouTube? I do. Someone put me on to it a few years back, and I, for one, (with a crummy old computer) was blown away at the fact that you could watch short silly videos, on your laptop, anywhere in the world. I thought that it was the technology that would change the way people viewed art, and culture, and would truly be a new medium in the art field.

Then came the “Leave Britney Alone!” guy.

Then came Saddam’s execution.

Then came “Don’t taze me, bro!”.

Then came the 9/11 conspiracy videos.

Then came… you get the point.

Well, the other day, I stumbled upon a similar type of technology, but was amazed to find that people were actually using the medium of video for (gasp!) art. And oh by the way… It’s HD?!! Check out – http://www.vimeo.com – and see what the difference is between people with tools, and people who know how to use those same tools with a vision. Also, below is a beautiful film by Phillip Bloom. It’s a good 6 minutes long, but it’s a marvelous, and beautiful piece of filmmaking.

Alone in Tokyo HD from Philip Bloom on Vimeo.

