Now, you all know I love DC. I do, really. …But there’s just things that are allowed and accepted, in NYC that make it infinitely cooler as a city that embraces art, than here. Case in point –

From June 26th, (my father’s birthday, if you see him, tell him happy birthday for me) until October 13th, in the largest art project since the Gates, four “New York City Waterfalls” will transform seemingly (now) mundane parts of Manhattan into beautiful, artificial natural wonders. Sounds cool? It is. It’s the baby of Olafur Eliasson, and is funded by the NY Public Art Fund, the city, and private investors. All in all, it sounds amazing… and it makes me wonder – Why can’t something like this happen in Washington DC? -kk

“New York City Waterfalls” will run between June 26 and Oct. 13 at Pier 35; at the eastern foot of the Brooklyn Bridge; between Piers 4 and 5 near the Brooklyn Heights Promenade; and on the north shore of Governors Island.

