To The Woman Who Clearly Had Little to No Regard For Human Life,

(1:00pm, Tuesday November 25th, 2008)

While I was driving to my home, less than a block from the Fillmore Art Center, you were two cars behind the automobile at the stop sign to the left. You had yielded for the bus that was dropping off children, but only apparently because you had a car in front of you, because when the flashing lights dropped on the bus, you immediately accelerated thru the stop sign, and nearly hit me. Not recognizing your mistake or speed, you nearly missed the next bus at the bus stop, who also had their “stop” flashers on, and you locked up the brakes. A minute later, you then accelerated to a high rate of speed again, and blew thru the stop sign at 35th & S. St., in front of another school. I saw that not only did you not even yield to pedestrian traffic, but you then never hesitated to stop at the stop sign in front of the entrance to yet another school. (Duke Ellington). The only point in which you stopped in a 4 block strip of street, was at the stop light on Prospect and 35th St. It was at this point, I felt the need to pull up beside you an inquire as to whether or not you had seen or recognized the fact that you;  A) were speeding in a residential area, B) completely disregarded 3 stop signs, C) endangered the life of pedestrians and children. You never once motioned to me that you were sorry, or had even heard my words, even though your window was down. You simply poured liquid from a water bottle, into an open container, and waited another 30-45 seconds for the light to change. Then, accelerated at a high rate of speed down 35th street, and towards Key Bridge. 

I write this, because I am a resident of this neighborhood. I’ve lived here for the better part of 6 years, and in those 6 years, I’ve never seen someone as irresponsible or as dangerous as yourself, this afternoon. I don’t know what it was that made you endanger the lives of these people today. Perhaps you were late for a meeting, or something terrible happened to you or a loved one. Or maybe it’s something that I can’t even think of. But if you’re ever in these blocks again, and I see you do what you did today, I will not hesitate to call the necessary authorities, and have you and your dangerous driving taken off the road. I’ve recorded your licence plate number, and have video of your driving, so please don’t think that I will forget about this. 

The bottom line is, it’s the week of Thanksgiving, and a lot of people are on the road again, this year. About 10 years ago, while I was attending art school in Savannah, a friend was killed, driving home for this great family holiday, and she never came back to campus again. These things stick with you, and if it’s a matter of getting somewhere faster, or staying alive, I beg of you and ALL of us, to just slow down, relax, and take our time. I know that sometimes driving and road rage get the best of me too, but it’s times like this, when you see someone with such complete and utter disregard for people and children, you say to yourself, “slow down, and relax… we’ll get there when we get there”.

Sorry about the rant, but it had to be said. 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. More normal districtcreatives.com features coming in December. 

-kk

