image from myspace.com

image from myspace.com

Being a not-so-closeted “foodie”, I often like to describe things, using food or food preperation techniques. For example, if I think that something is good but probably only to me, I’ll say that it’s “fishsticks”. Weird, I know… Or, if it’s crazy good, and everyone is aware of it, I’ll refer to cet thing with the common term of  “bananas”. Well, in the case of Iranian rock alt-rock band Hypernova, (yes, Iran. As in, “the” Iran) the best descriptive term I could use, using my tried and true method, would probably have to be “Bananas Foster“.  : ) Hypernova is a high-powered, pedal-t0-the-floor sound that evokes a mash of early Strokes, Foo Fighters & Hard-Fi (that I’ve just coined, “HardStrokeFoo”) that honestly, if you had the opportunity to see at a live, smallish-club venue, you would probably kick yourself  if you didn’t go to…. wait. Tonight? At DC9? Yep. And tickets are 8-freeking dollars?! Yes.   Check it out. 

Oh, and for the record, that Hard-Fi video is fishsticks. : ) I

